Leather award

Nancy Irwin was recently honoured with the Courtlan Forsey Award, given by MLT to an individual or organization in Toronto’s leather and SM community for contributions of lasting significance. Irwin joins previous recipients including Duncan MacLachlan, Jay Wagner, The Toolbox and George Giaouris.

Irwin is one of the founders of the monthly Women’s SM discussion group that formed in 1999. This group has strengthened and increased the visibility of the women’s leather community, spawned new groups and led to partnerships with the men’s and pansexual BDSM communities.

She also produces a line of latex clothing through her business Naughty Nancy Latex (and she writes for Xtra).

Other community awards presented by MLT during its weekend were the Francis Robichaud Award, given to individuals in the leather community who have consistently made significant contributions to Toronto’s gay and lesbian community, to Jack Mackness, and the Claude Brazeau Award for the volunteer of the year, Gerry Geroux.

Keep Reading

7 queer films to watch out for this spring and summer

From a theatre troupe in a maximum-security prison to hot bisexuals sweating it out on the tennis court, spring and summer have plenty of queer cinematic fare to offer

‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ Season 16, Episode 15 power ranking: Losing is the new winning for one queen

Who is the champion of this season’s LaLaPaRuZa tournament?

‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ Season 16, Episode 15 recap: LaLaRuUnion

Our eliminated queens are back to battle it out in a lip sync tournament

‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ Season 16, Episode 14 power ranking: The final three

For the first time since Season 12— and the first time intentionally since Season 8—we have just three queens in the finale